Skip to main content

Lagos Postpones Inauguration Of 8th Assembly

The Lagos State House of Assembly has postponed the inauguration/proclamation of the 8th Assembly that had earlier been slated for today, Thursday 4th of June 2015.
Although the reason for the postponement was not stated in a press statement issued by the Assembly, it was gathered that the event was postponed because the Governor of the state, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, who would chair the inauguration ceremony had an urgent official assignment in Abuja today.

The Head of Information Unit of the Assembly, Miss Bode Lambo, said in the statement that the programme was shifted due to unforeseen circumstances.

In a related development, sources in the Assembly revealed that Hon. Mudashiru Obasa from Agege. Constituency 1 has been anointed to be the next Speaker of the House by the leaders of the House and the party, while Hon. Wasiu Eshilokun from Lagos Island 1 will be the Deputy Speaker.

“The leaders of the party insisted that the next Speaker should be a fourth term member, and we had to choose between Obasa and Hon. Adefunmilayo Tejuosho, but we all prefer Obasa.

“Also, the second term member said that we should give them the Deputy Speaker and we chose Eshinlokun amongst them because he is more matured than others,” said a source.

A competent source confirmed that the likes of the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu have supported the move to make Hon. Obasa the next Speaker of the House.

Mudashiru Obasa Set To Become Speaker of 8th Lagos Assembly

There were strong indications yesterday that Hon. Mudashiru Obasa from Agege Consituency 1 has been anointed as the next Speaker of the House as the Governor of the state, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode is set to inaugurate the 8th Lagos State House of Assembly today

The battle for who becomes the Speaker of the House after the 10-year reign of the out-gone Speaker, Rt. Hon. Adeyemi Ikuforiji had gone on for more than five weeks after the last general elections.

Some of the top contenders for the coveted office were Hon. Adefunmilayo Tejuosho (Mushin 1), the Deputy Chief Whip of 7th Assembly, Hon. Rotimi Abiru (Shomolu 2), Hon. Olanrewaju Moshood Oshun (Lagos Mainland 2), Hon. Sanai Agunbiade and Hon. Gbolahan Yishawu (Eti-Osa 2).

The seat of speakership position initially favoured Hon. Wasiu Eshilokun but now the pendulum has swung to Agege.

Sources in the Assembly confirmed that the lawmakers found it difficult to reach a compromise and that the issue sharply divided the House as they formed different camps over the issue.

“The issue seriously divided the House and it got to a stage that we didn’t know what to do. Even the party leaders were confused over the matter. We just had to be careful over the matter,” said a source.

It was gathered that leaders of the party gave the assignment to some top ranking members of the out-gone 7th Assembly including the immediate past Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Kolawole Taiwo and Hon. Sikiru Oshinowo, who many see as a kingmaker in the House.

A competent source revealed that other contestants for the position might be compensated with other principal offices or some sensitive committees.

Source: Leadership Newspaper