Skip to main content

8TH ASSEMBLY: Gbajabiamila & Lawan Emerges Speaker and Senate President

The leadership crisis rocking the All Progressives Congress in its bid to pick the house of representative Speaker as well as the Senate President for the 8th assembly seem to have ended as the party adopts former minority leader of house of representative in the 7th assembly Hon Femi Gbajabiamila and Dr. Ahmed Lawan as Speaker and Senate President respectively.
Both candidates emerged at the straw election conducted at the International Conference Centre (ICC) in Abuja between yesterday and early hours of today.

Femi Gbajabiamila polled 154 votes out of the 161 votes cast, while four votes were voided. Yakubu Dogara got three votes to come second. Dogara had ealier boycotted the election as he believed the party leadership had already backed Gbajabiamila to emerge as the Speaker.

Similarly, the deputy speakership candidate Mohammed Tahir Monguno scored 153 votes out of 161 votes cast while eight votes were voided. 183 members attended the meeting while 161 members voted in the election.

On the other hand, in another straw election conducted in the early hours of today, Dr Ahmed Lawan from Yobe polled 32 votes out of the 33 cast at the mock election to emerged as the Senate President while George Akume (Benue North) was nominated to act as his deputy.

It was gathered that another major contender for the Senate Presidency Senator Bukola Saraki had met with his supporters at a different location in Abuja and decided to go for outright election on the floor of the Senate.


Post a comment